Publications

About Biomaterials Forum

Biomaterials Forum serves the biomaterials community and is the official news magazine of the Society For Biomaterials. Biomaterials Forum is published by the Society For Biomaterials. Society members receive the Biomaterials Forum quarterly as a benefit of membership. Non-members may elect to subscribe to the magazine at the annual rate of $48.00. Direct membership inquiries to the Membership Department at the Society office (e-mail to info@biomaterials.org).


It is the policy of the Society For Biomaterials that all articles reflect only the views of the authors and that publication of articles or advertisements within the Biomaterials Forum does not constitute endorsement by the Society For Biomaterials or its agents of products, services, or views expressed herein. No representation is made as to the accuracy hereof and the publication is printed subject to errors and omissions. Articles that do not have an author byline may originate from press releases.


Editorial contributions to Biomaterials Forum are always welcome. Contributions should be sent to the Managing Editor. Authors should refer to the Author Guidelines when writing submissions. Publisher accepts no responsibility for return or safety of artwork, photographs, or manuscripts. Editorial contribution does not imply or guarantee acceptance.

Click here for Biomaterials Forum Advertising information


Managing Editor: Erik Caplan, Society For Biomaterials, 15000 Commerce Parkway Advertising Manager, Suite C, Mt.Laurel, NJ 08054
t: (856) 439-0826 - f: (856) 439-0525 - e: ecaplan@ahint.com

Address corrections should be directed to Biomaterials Forum, Attn: Rebecca Riedesel 15000 Commerce Parkway, Suite C, Mt. Laurel, NJ 08054. (Subscribers, please include label.)


Requests for advertisement space should be directed to Erik Caplan at (856) 439-0826 telephone, or e-mail at ecaplan@ahint.com. Advertisements are subject to General Conditions of Sale.


Unauthorized reproduction of Biomaterials Forum in whole or in part is prohibited. Requests for permission should be directed to the Managing Editor.

Scientific photos may be submitted for cover consideration in future issues. Submit color photo, credit information, and scientific description to the Executive Editor.


Executive Editor
Liisa T. Kuhn
University of Connecticut Health Center
Center for Biomaterials
236 Farmington Ave. MC1615
Farmington, CT 06030-1615
t:  860-679-3922
f:  860-679-2910
e: lkuhn@uchc.edu

Managing Editor
Erik Caplan
Society For Biomaterials
15000 Commerce Parkway Suite C
Mt.Laurel, NJ 08054
t: (856) 439-0826
f: (763) 439-0525
e: ecaplan@ahint.com

Book Review Contributing Editor
Lynne Jones
Johns Hopkins University
Orthopaedics@Good Samaritan Hospital
Suite 201 Smyth Building
5601 Loch Raven Blvd.
Baltimore, MD 21239
t: 443-444-5906
f: 410-532-5908
e: ljones3@jhmi.edu

Government News Contributing Editor
Joy Dunkers
NIST
Polymers Division
100 Bureau Drive, Stop 8541
Gaithersburg, MD 20899
t: 301-975-6841
e: joy.dunkers@nist.gov

Industrial News Contributing Editor
Steve T. Lin
Exactech Inc.
2320 NW 66th Court
Gainsville, FL 32653
t: (352) 377-1140
f: (352) 378-2617
e: steve.lin@exac.com

Society Business & Membership News Contributing Editor
Nicholas P. Ziats, PhD
Case Western Reserve University
Department of Pathology
2103 Cornell Road
Wolstein Building #5143
Cleveland, OH 44106
t: 216-368-5176
f: 216-368-1357
e: npz@case.edu

Special Interest Group News Contributing Editor
Jeffrey L. Schwartz, MS
WL Gore & Associates
4250 W Kiltie Lane
PO Box 2400
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
t: 928-864-3241
f: 928-864-4226
e: jlschwar1999@yahoo.com

Student News Contributing Editor
Beth Pollot
University of Texas at San Antonio
t: 585-739-1721
e: bepollot@gmail.com

AIMBE News Contributing Editor
Lynne Jones
Johns Hopkins University
Orthopaedics@Good Samaritan Hospital
Suite 201 Smyth Building
5601 Loch Raven Blvd.
Baltimore, MD 21239
t: 443-444-5906
f: 410-532-5908
e: ljones3@jhmi.edu

Special Interest Group Reporters

Biomaterials & Medical Products Commercialization
Carl R. McMillin, syntheticbodyparts.com

Biomaterials Educatoin
Cassandra Wright-Walker, cassanw@clemson.edu

Cardiovascular Biomaterials
Natalie Artzi, nartzi@mit.edu

Dental/Craniofacial Materials
Sachin Mamidwar, smamidwar@orthogencorp.com

Drug Delivery
Thomas Dziubla, dziubla@engr.uky.edu

Engineering Cells & Their Microenvironments
Thomas Barker, Thomas.barker@bme.gatech.edu

Implant Pathology
Janson Emmanual, jemmanua@wlgore.com

Nanomaterials
Steven Eppell, sje@case.edu

Ophthalmological Biomaterials
Andy Doraiswamy, adoraiswamy@avsiol.com

Orthopaedic Biomaterials
Lakshmi S. Nair, nair@uchc.edu

Proteins & Cells at Interfaces
Sumona Sarkar, sumona.sarkar@nist.gov

Surface Characterization & Modification
Jayant Joshi, castner@nb.engr.washington.edu

Tissue Engineering
Jian Yang, jxy30@psu.edu